Tuesday, October 4, 2022
HomeLiving 2ParentingWhat Are the 6 Stages of Play?

What Are the 6 Stages of Play?

Did you know there are 6 stages of play?
All the stages involve exploring, being creative, and having fun.

Unoccupied Play (0-3 Months): Makes a lot of movement with their arms, legs, hands, feet, etc.
Place baby in a safe space on the floor with something interesting to look at

Solitary Play (Birth-2 Years): Content to play alone
Give baby toys with buttons to push or levers to pull, so they are excited to explore on their own

Onlooker Play (2 Years): Watches other children playing, but doesn’t play with them yet
Sit baby on your lap and let them observe what’s going on when a sibling or another child is present

Parallel play (2+ years): Plays alongside or near others
Set up a play space so the children can play near each other with either the same or different toys

Associate Play (3-4 Years): Starts to interact with others during play
Use a toy that two can play with at once (e.g. a kitchen set or cars), they may talk to each other while playing

Cooperative Play (4+Years): Plays with others
Try playing a game with some instructions so both children can play with each other

Play starts when we’re babies and never stops!

0:00 What are the 6 stages of play
0:21 Unoccupied play (0-3 months)
0:34 Solitary play (birth-2 years)
00:50 Onlooker play (2 years)
1:04 Parallel play (2+ years)
1:18 Associate play (3-4 years)
1:33 Cooperative play (4+ years)


- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments